Tuscany cooking holidays are the classic Italian culinary week: you stay in a farmhouse, villa or wine estate in the hills of Chianti, Siena or Lucca, cook with a local teacher most days, and eat what you make with wine from the estate. Most run for five to seven nights between April and October, and the price usually covers lodging, classes, most meals and some excursions.
2026 start: 9 November; 2027 starts: 8 February, 8 March, 5 April, 19 April, 3 May, 24 May, 30 August, 13 September, 27 September, 18 October (olive oil special), 8 November
Meals
Market visit
Minimum 2 participants. Includes language course, 2 cooking lessons with dinner and tours. Accommodation not included but the school can arrange family, B&B, hotel or apartment. Dietary needs: 'please let us know'. No lodging included (type 'holiday' used for the 5-day length only).
School page: “695€ including language course, cooking lessons and tours”
'PRICES 2027' 1 week EUR 699, 'No surprise fee'. Includes enrolment fees and taxes, Italian language course, materials, cooking ingredients, appetizers and dinner, certificate of attendance, recipe booklet. Sample week runs Monday to Friday. No lodging included (type 'holiday' used for the 5-day length only). Teaching language of the cooking part not stated.
Lessons 4 days/week, 3-4 hours each day, small groups of max 6. 2 weeks €2,220, 4 weeks €3,400, 12 weeks €8,200 without housing; with shared twin room 1 week €1,600.
Sourdough bread, focaccia and pizza with heritage grains, potato bread, flatbreads and wood-fired oven management with five bakers. Includes 5 nights, local ground transport for 6 days, daily breakfast, 4 lunches, 5 dinners. Pick-up at Pisa airport, Pisa Centrale or Lucca station. Non-participant €550. Deposit €300.
€2,250per person (minimum 4, maximum 5 people)about US$2,514
Length
5 days
Per day
about €450
Group
up to 5
Taught in
English
Certificate
Attendance
Season
2027: 25 April – 1 May
Lodging
Meals
Transfers
Includes 6 nights, local ground transport for 6 days, daily breakfast, 5 lunches, 6 dinners, course sessions and notes; certificates presented on Friday. Private 5-day course €5,500 per person; non-participant in same room €700. Deposit €300. Not included: airfares, insurance, extra drinks and meals. Suitable for chefs, pastry chefs and gelateria staff. Single room: None stated; accommodation is single or double room with en suite.
2027 weeks May to early June and late August to early October
Lodging
Meals
Wine
Price per person based on two sharing a room with private bathroom; non-cooking guest EUR 1,900. Includes 7 nights, daily breakfast, four hands-on classes with lunch or dinner, welcome and farewell dinners; not included: lunch on the San Gimignano day and lunch and dinner on the Florence day. Organic local wines with lunches and dinners. 25% non-refundable deposit. Single room: +€900 (only 2 solo travellers per course).
EUR 500 deposit. Fee includes 5 days tuition, recipes and notes, ingredients, bannetons, scrapers, grignette, thermometer, apron, 5 nights accommodation with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Class limit of 5 is from the school's homepage ('occasionally we stretch that a bit').
All meals, wine/beer with lunch and dinner, truffle hunt, afternoon tours, Pisa transfers included. $700 non-refundable deposit. Diploma at the final dinner. Single room: Single supplement applies (amount not stated).
Offers 1, 9 and 16 combine the standard Italian language course (mornings) with cooking and a culture course. 'The offers are valid throughout the year and can be chosen for periods from 2 to 8 weeks.' Accommodation priced separately. Price shown is 'from' for 2 weeks; longer durations on the offer detail pages (not read).
Includes 40 group lessons, 4 cooking classes (4h), equipped kitchen, didactic material, social activities. Language classes max 15 (average 8). Certificate states lessons attended and CEFR level. Accommodation separate.
Next dates: Florence 19 October 2026; Lecce 21 June 2027
74 hours of training; 2 weeks, Mon-Fri 7.5 hours a day; max 20 students. Fee includes teaching with a professional translator in English, raw materials, equipment, jacket and hat, English manual, certificate 'Expert of Italian Pasta and Sauces'. Taught by Italian chefs with English translation. Accommodation not included (separate accommodation page).
Florence: 28 September 2026 (sold out), 2 November 2026
74 hours; lessons Mon-Fri 7.5 h a day; max 20 persons. Fee includes translator into English, raw materials, equipment, uniform, English manual and certificate 'Expert in Italian Pizza and Baking'.
6 credits $ 6,050. 6-week sessions: 3 credits $5,150, 6 credits $6,550, 9 credits $8,050. Prices from the Study Abroad in Europe agency page, not apicius.it. Housing inclusion not stated on the page.
Year-round; starts every Monday (complete beginners every second Monday)
Lodging
Meals
Price on request ('Please, contact the school to know the price and availability of the cooking experience'). Lasts 'a minimum of one and a maximum of four weeks'. Must book a single or double room with half board; cooking lessons three times a week from around 18:00 with the host. Language course priced separately; registration fee EUR 60. Group lessons max 10 students. Florence only.
Exclusively practical; 4 hours a week, 13:00-15:00 on 2 days a week; each lesson includes lunch with the teacher. Also 1 week EUR 110, 2 weeks EUR 220, 3 weeks EUR 330. Weekly start dates listed through September 2027. Teaching language not stated on the page.
US$7,550tuition for one concentration + housingabout €6,758
Length
9 weeks
Per day
about €107
Certificate
Professional
Lodging
12 credits; classes and labs at GANZO, the student-run restaurant-club. Requires prior culinary training, a hospitality degree or one year of kitchen work.
€9,400tuition per student, plus €2,000 enrollment feeabout US$10,502
Length
26 weeks
Per day
about €52
Taught in
Italian, English
Certificate
Professional
Lodging
6-month program (about 26 weeks). 12-month version €10,400 tuition. Fees include Italian language classes, housing, weekly guided art visits and extracurricular activities. Start dates 28 Sep 2026, 25 Jan, 5 Apr, 27 Sep 2027. English interpretation provided; classes off-campus.
Each bar spans the cheapest to the dearest published price per person for courses of that length in Tuscany.
About a week5 to 13 days · 17 priced
€695median €3,357€6,489
2 to 4 weeks14 to 31 days · 6 priced
€580median €1,790€3,804
Longer than a month5 weeks up to a year · 2 priced
€6,758median €8,079€9,400
Published prices per person in euros (US dollar and pound prices converted at the ECB rate), log scale. The dot is the median.
About cooking in Tuscany
The questions that change the price most are the room (double or single, and the single supplement), how many hands-on classes are included, whether airport or station transfers are part of the package, and how many dinners are left to you. This page puts those facts side by side for the holidays that publish them, together with the longer courses at Florence schools.
Dishes you are likely to cook: pici, ribollita, pappardelle, crostini, schiacciata, cantucci.
How to choose a course in Tuscany
Count the hands-on classes, not the nights: a 7-night holiday can include anything from 3 to 6 classes.
Travelling alone? Look at the single supplement, which on some holidays adds hundreds of euros.
Check transfers: many farmhouse schools are 30–60 minutes from Florence or Pisa by car and some collect you from the station only on the arrival day.
Wine lovers: holidays based on a wine estate often include a tasting or vineyard visit; the cards show this when the school says so.
Best months for a class in Tuscany
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
Grape harvest is in September and early October and the olive harvest in late October and November; many holiday schools close from December to March.
Getting there
Fly into Florence or Pisa; most countryside schools are reached by car or by the school’s own transfer from Florence Santa Maria Novella station.
Schools in Tuscany
Every school we list, with its lowest published price.
About a week (5 to 13 days): published prices run from €695 to €6,489 per person (17 priced), the lowest being Lucca Italian School at €695 per person, 1 week. 2 to 4 weeks (14 to 31 days): published prices run from €580 to €3,804 per person (6 priced), the lowest being Istituto Michelangelo at €580 per person, from, 2 weeks. Longer than a month (5 weeks up to a year): published prices run from €6,758 to €9,400 per person (2 priced), the lowest being Apicius International School of Hospitality at US$7,550 tuition for one concentration + housing. Prices were read on each school’s website; US dollar and pound prices are converted to euros at the ECB rate.
Why do some Tuscany courses say “price on request”?
1 of the 27 courses listed here do not publish a price on the school’s website, usually because they are private classes or priced by group size. We do not estimate those; write to the school, or send us your dates through the enquiry form and we will ask.
How long is a Tuscany cooking holiday?
Most run for 5 to 7 nights, arriving on a Saturday or Sunday. We list only holidays of about a week or longer.
Is a Tuscany cooking holiday all-inclusive?
Usually lodging, classes, the meals you cook and some dinners are included, but flights, some lunches, extra wine and transfers on non-arrival days often are not. Each card lists what the school says is included.